Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
self employed wedding/portrait photographer.

HATE the self-employed part (taxes, filing, paperwork, contracts, financial worries, etc), love the shooting part Not terribly fond of the people part, but I only have to be around them when I'm shooting them, so it balances out.

I'd rather be doing something a little more fast paced and hands-on (most of my time is spent in front of the computer)... so if I could do it over again, I'd consider a career in restaurants, emergency services, construction, something more physically demanding where time just flies and you never have to bring your work home with you.

·
Registered
5,225 Posts
Did a schoolish appreciative ship in the field of Computer Science and am now studying it. It's pretty boring and dry and I won't follow through.

As fun as programming is to me it's too draining on my head and I don't think I could ever do it for a living 8 hours a day without going postal eventually. I don't really feel exhausting myself for a living so I could easily settle for something simple, such as helpdesk work. Taking in calls in a company and be the maintenance guy kinda thing. Things are simple and somewhat social on a level it won't annoy me. I have very less incentive of climbing career ladders and this definitely isn't the type of thing with much of a rich future anyway.

Overall it probably depends on what you're good at and like in the first place, that said, the way it works for me is that I grow tired of things I became good at (by my definition) - so I for one don't see myself ever having a long term fulfilling job life.

Your choice will probably heavily dependent on education, country you're living in and whether or not you're interested in making a career in the first place. I for one don't care enough about money to ever live for work.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #4