Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
do you follow your heart more or head more?
and when / what is the sign / on which occasions ... that you have to follow either one of them?
When I was younger my Fe definitely dominated my actions. I was rather sentimental and operated by gut instinct and emotions. As I grew older and developed my Ti, I began to learn to think things through and formulate plans of action. I became much less sentimental, and buried my emotions beneath layers of indifference (though they are still there). I hope I use these terms correctly, I am still learning about the various cognitive functions.

I have never been a particularly pragmatic person, but have become more so with age. It is still very hard for me to be practical. Like the Fool in the Tarot, I suppose I still lead with my "heart," that gut feeling that compels me to follow a certain path, or pursue a particular activity, though I use my head to assure that I do not walk over any cliffs. I tend to follow my heart, but to hedge my bets where practical matters are concerned (assuring that I am supplied with adequate sustenance, shelter, and am at least marginally prepared for certain potential medial crises).

Like most IJs (I assume), I have always been rather cautious, at least generally so, though there have been occasions of intense emotion where I have tossed caution to the wind and gone ahead with some crazy scheme or other (and rarely regretted it). I also think that my "head" has at times hindered me from following certain impulses from my "heart."

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
Your heart and your head should be one, not separate. It must be a relation between the two, one reigns the other in and the other pushes their companion into action. One cannot act with their heart because they will lack their mind, one cannot act with their mind for they will lack their heart.