Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Banned
891 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I notice that many people (including myself) have had past mistypes when it comes to their Enneagram personality type. Seems to be a fairly common thing. But just out of curiosity, is there anyone here who got it right the first time? I'd be interested in hearing your story.

·
Registered
NiTe 549
5,321 Posts
This is actually why I jumped right into being typed via thread before I studied the system (also rather than being typed by test). Self-classification is a tricky business, and more objective points of view to start with, based on an outsider's analysis - THEN studying the system to consider it against other options - seems like a good plan for giving a more stable starting point.

I think I was typed correctly, as a 5. The full description clicked very readily for me, and I don't see much that fits myself in most of the other enneatypes. Somewhat on 8, 9, 3.

·
Banned
4,477 Posts
For the first two weeks of getting into the Enneagram I thought I maybe a 5 because I was reading enneagraminstitute.com's definition with a bias by looking past things that didn't quite match up and agreeing with it. I read various descriptions of 1s at some point when I started to care and knew it was correct. So ya, when I became enthusiastic about learning my type I became certain within the day.

·
Registered
277 Posts
Threes can sometimes mistype themselves when they mistake the more superficial features of their personalities as indicators of their type. I didn't get it right the first time, the 5 description was spot on though.

·
Registered
2,175 Posts