Personality Cafe banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ti: years ago, I fell in love with computer science. I still love data structures, compiler design, and assembly code; I graduated near the top of my class. I also lived and breathed computer code for several years.

Fi: there is no place on the planet that fits my values like the University of Notre Dame; the university's interest in academics and sports (especially football) fits me to a 'tee.' Add in the notion of religion and God and you have almost everything I value. Even my interest in the 1970s fits; that decade was a golden era for Notre Dame football. The one thing that is different is that I love the humorous side of things. If Notre Dame had the humorous side, it would have everything I value- with Boston College and Georgetown not far behind...

Anyway, you can see my issues with the MBTI; assume I am like Notre Dame in personality type; if I am 'Fi,' what about my strong backbone in academics? If I am 'Ti,' what about the ethical/religious side? And, if I am intuitive, what about the deep interest in sports - and therefore the sensory side of things? (E.g., "Touchdown Jesus.")

Now, I can imagine some people saying that money is what drives that place but I'm not sure that they are any different in that sense than Harvard or MIT, which people don't necessarily view the same way...

Anyway, your opinions please...

·
Registered
ENTJ 8w7
2,293 Posts
Anyway, you can see my issues with the MBTI
I don't see any issues. Falling in love with CS/anything doesn't make you Ti/T/anything. It tells me how you feel about those things if anything, which is a Feeling process.

if I am 'Fi,' what about my strong backbone in academics?
And what about it? How being Fi is supposed to contradict with strong backbones in whatever?

If I am 'Ti,' what about the ethical/religious side?