Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I have a curious mind; I love ideas; I enjoy the big picture; blah, blah, blah . . .

I just have one question disturbing the hell out of me: Given my job-hopping and constantly changing pursuits, how am I ever going to have a meaningful life? I'm an engineer who turned to writing/editing because he felt he had a natural talent for it, but I'm not interested in improving anymore. A big reason for that is that writers are not well respected and are very poorly paid, something I take as personal insult. I also fear that soon artificial intelligence will begin to produce writing and I'll be useless. I'm now planning to shift to computer programming, but what if I get bored with that also? I love math but am not very good at it, and worst of all, not persistent. And given my hatred of stupidity and repetition, I'll never make a teacher.

Please help me sort out my head.

·
Registered
98 Posts
Takes a while to find your calling. I try to keep myself occupied with projects for the fun of it. If you are interested in writing, write til you get bored of it. then write some more. whatever it is, make sure you are doing it at least 30 minutes a day. If you can handle it you might want to make a career out of it. For the mean time do it as a side project, then if you have the tenacity to keep doing it switch over. I feel that INTPs can be good at anything if they put their minds to it, the hard part for us is keeping interest.