Personality Cafe banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I get it, business it about making money, not helping people The problem is I am about helping people; I am not independently wealthy, and I need to work for a living.

I have life experience that has led me to not trust business.

The first experience was when I was about 6 years old, and credit collectors threatened my sisters and I late at night with knocks at the door and threats to take my father away (one parent household) for not paying his debts even though he, at 38, he had a triple bypass and was unable to work.

The last time was after 13 years of commitment to a company that wanted me to compromise my values. The company wanted me to lie to my staff and alter reviews in order to lessen the raises people would receive. I could not do it and quit.

There have been many examples in between.

Where have other INFJs found work that did not ask one to compromise one's values. Are any of you able to detach your personal values from those of the company in which you do bidding?--if so how do you do it.

Do any of you feel, as I do, that business seems kind of slimy and parasitic.

Where is that lotto ticket anyway?

Thank you for any advice you can give me.
Rich

·
Registered
INFP
1,317 Posts
Well it all depend on what kind of business you are talking about, not all business are created the same way. There is quite a variety of them from mining, to printing, to banking, to recycling, to information technology. Most of the time a company will be at the image of it's leaders. If people at the top are a bunch of ignorant worthless people, chances are the whole company will be a rotten fish (always depend on how the power is spread throughout the organization, most companies are quite top-down though).