Personality Cafe banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4,847 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'd like to know about your experience with these freelancing websites.

Please also describe the type of work you signed up for and your expertise/professional experience level.

·
Registered
INTP
3,531 Posts
Not I, personally. But I was a freelance copy editor (of academic articles) for 15 years. I researched such sites when I was starting out, and the topic came up occasionally in editors' and freelancers' discussion groups.

The consensus seemed to be that they aren't worth it if you're at all serious about your craft, or about making a living, or about professionalism. Usually the job will go to lowest bidder.

Might be okay for giggles or a bit of pocket money: "Sure, I'll proofread your novel for $50." It might also be a way to get your feet wet if you don't know where else to start.

·
Registered
15,054 Posts
I've created an account as a freelance writer and copyeditor on Freelancer for a couple of weeks, but my experience wasn't worthwhile and I ended up cancelling my account

The consensus seemed to be that they aren't worth it if you're at all serious about your craft, or about making a living, or about professionalism. Usually the job will go to lowest bidder.

Might be okay for giggles or a bit of pocket money: "Sure, I'll proofread your novel for $50." It might also be a way to get your feet wet if you don't know where else to start.
Yes, I agree with this. The website didn't seem serious or professional to me. I wasn't willing to do most of the stuff for just a bit of pocket money, and I didn't think the experience I'd gain would be worthwhile to put on my resume.