Personality Cafe banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a decent writer, I think, but I always pick at a sentence before I can finish it. A two-page essay will end up taking two days. ANYWAY:

• Do any of you deal with hardcore perfectionism?
  • How do you deal with it?
  • What do you think causes it?
  • Do you have any tips for story writing?

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Do any of you deal with hardcore perfectionism?

Only when creating things.

How do you deal with it?

I work at it until it's perfect. lol

What do you think causes it?

Our realization that what we currently have does not meet the standards set by our preconceived ideal.

Do you have any tips for story writing?

Unfortunately I'm not much of a long-story writer, only short. Even then, I really have no idea. I know these answers are kind of cut-and-dry literal, sorry.

·
Registered
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

Only when creating things.

How do you deal with it?

I work at it until it's perfect. lol

Our realization that what we currently have does not meet the standards set by our preconceived ideal.

Unfortunately I'm not much of a long-story writer, only short. Even then, I really have no idea. I know these answers are kind of cut-and-dry literal, sorry.

That's fine! So when you are writing something with a deadline, how do you usually combat your perfectionism? For me it feels like my writing is NEVER perfect so I always feel I deliver my papers half finished.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
That's fine! So when you are writing something with a deadline, how do you usually combat your perfectionism? For me it feels like my writing is NEVER perfect so I always feel I deliver my papers half finished.