Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to know about the life of ISFJ software developers considering that this industry are best for the NTs.

Basically, I want to know:
  • What is your job role/level (i.e. team lead role, manager)?
  • What platform/language or what is your specialization?
  • How do you catch up with the demands in the industry?
  • What do you do after work (or do you still have time and life after work)?
  • What ticks you off (i.e. stressful situation) and how do you cope with that?
  • Are you happy with your career?

·
Registered
30 Posts
1.) What is your job role/level (i.e. team lead role, manager)?
Uh.... I guess I would describe it as just a general developer. The progression where I work goes Associate Developer, Developer II, Developer III, Architect, with Lead->Supervisor being offshoots of that.

I'm a Developer II, and I'm pretty heavily invested in mentorship of newer people, but I'm not in any way a "lead" or "supervisor."

2.) What platform/language or what is your specialization?
It's a proprietary programming language based on Smalltalk. It's used for EDI Development.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_Data_Interchange

3.) How do you catch up with the demands in the industry?
Well, since I'm kind of in a weird niche, the "demands in the industry" aren't that much of a concern for me in my current position. I code with an old language that the company is trying to get rid of. I did recently take a Java Certification course so I guess that's me trying to keep my skillset up.

4.) What do you do after work (or do you still have time and life after work)?
I have no life outside of work. It's something I'm working on. There are a number of reasons for this. Probably the biggest one is my own apathy and lack of motivation to find something better to do.

5.) What ticks you off (i.e. stressful situation) and how do you cope with that?